Join us on one of our social networking sites

Waikato Rugby Union to again host the Northern Regional Sevens

24 November 2017 at 10.30am

Sevu 7s

Waikato Rugby Union will again host the Northern Regional Sevens tournament at Memorial Park in Cambridge on Saturday 9th December.

The Northern Regional Sevens tournament will feature six provincial unions (men’s and women’s) from the upper North Island (Northland, North Harbour, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Waikato and Bay of Plenty) including the 2017 National Sevens champions Counties Manukau men’s and women’s team, as they all compete for their seeding positions at the Bayleys National Sevens in Rotorua in 2018.

The Waikato Men’s Sevens team will be looking for back to back Northern Regional titles after winning the 2016 tournament at the same venue beating Northland in the final. However they will face stiff competition from the current 2017 National Seven’s champions Counties Manukau Men’s, who beat Waikato in the National Seven’s final earlier this year.

The Waikato Women’s Sevens team will be looking to build on their results from last year’s tournaments where they were finished third at the Northern Regional’s and fourth at the National tournament.

The Waikato Men's team have named a wider training group that features 28 players ranging from 10 different Waikato clubs (see squad below).

The squad will be broken into two squads for this weekend’s PUC Sevens (25 November 2017) before the squad is narrowed down to the team that will represent Waikato at the Northern Regional Sevens at Memorial Park Cambridge (9 December 2017) and the Bayleys National Sevens at Rotorua International Stadium (13-14 January 2018).

The Northern Regional Seven’s tournament kicks off at 10.00am from Memorial Park, Cambridge on Saturday 9 December.

Waikato Men's Sevens Wider Training Group

  1. Leigh Bristowe – Hamilton Marist
  2. Jahrome Brown – Melville
  3. Jordan Bunce
  4. Tyler Campbell – University
  5. Dylan Collier - Otorohanga
  6. Liam Coombes-Fabling – Fraser Tech
  7. Regan Erueti – Leamington 
  8. Zac Guildford – Hamilton Old Boys
  9. Bren Ketu – Hamilton Marist
  10. Harry Lafituanai - Melville
  11. Josaan Levien – Hamilton Marist
  12. Niven Longopoa – Fraser Tech
  13. Ngarohi McGarvey-Black – Hamilton Marist
  14. Antonio Mikaele-Tu’u – University
  15. Josh Moorby – Te Awamutu Sports
  16. Te Rongopui Murray – Hamilton Old Boys
  17. Della Neli – Fraser Tech
  18. Sevu Reece – Hamilton Old Boys
  19. Siave Seti
  20. Reginald Sikvou – Fraser Tech
  21. Joe Simpkins – Hamilton Marist
  22. Saynarvat Srisawat – Fraser Tech
  23. Dwayne Sweeney – Morrinsville Sports
  24. Rupeni Tamani – Hamilton Old Boys
  25. Issac Te Tamaki – Hamilton Marist
  26. Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara – Hamilton Old Boys
  27. Sheldon Tovio – Hautapu
  28. Vili Tuipulotu – University