Join us on one of our social networking sites


Referee PoloWaikato Rugby Referees have 2017 Kit Confirmed

The WRRA Management Committee has recently meet and has confirmed the 2017 Referee Uniform.

These items will be available to purchase for our members who are paid up 2017 season members with their local Sub-Association. 

Please refer to the attached document for clothing items and prices. 

These items will be available to order at the upcoming WRRA AGM on Wednesday 15th March at FMG Stadium Waikato. Referees will not be able to go to Kukri and place individual orders as one large bulk order will be completed for 2017. 


Click here to view the 2017 clothing list


 Waikato Referees Selected for 2017 New Zealand Referee Squads

Winter Bull Ref2New Zealand Rugby’s High Performance Referee Manager Rod Hill this week released the New Zealand Referee squads for 2017.

In 2017 Waikato will be represented by 3 of our referees, the strongest representation by Waikato and our local RRA’s for a considerable time. Michael Winter has been promoted from the Development Squad into the National Squad, Aaron Paterson retains his position in the Television Match Official Panel and Josh Bull gets a much deserved appointment into the Wider Training Group.

Winter had a very successful 2016 club season and was duly appointed to referee the Waikato Breweries Shield final between Melville and Hamilton Old Boys. He then went onto referee seven Mitre 10 Heartland fixtures including a semi and the final of the Lochore Cup between King Country & North Otago.

After showing great accuracy and consistency throughout Super Rugby early in 2016 and throughout the Mitre 10 Cup, Aaron Paterson is appointed once again into New Zealand’s TMO Panel. Aaron was appointed to TMO the Premiership Final between Canterbury & Tasman in the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup.

2017 will be Josh Bull’s first season as a member of the Wider Training Group. It is great reward after the dedication and commitment shown by Bull over the last couple of season in Waikato’s club rugby competition. Josh will attend referee camps hosted by NZR and receive additional coaching and support from a NZR Referee Coach while still working alongside his Waikato referee coach, Josh will also attend the Jock Hobbs Memorial U19 Tournament in Taupo in September 2017.

Waikato Rugby’s Operations Manager Bill Heslop says “this reward reflects the value of the newly formed Elite Training Group. This doesn’t come about come about by fluke, as it is a credit to these three guys and the RRA for the time and effort they put into their work ethic”.

It is great to see Waikato Referees so well represented in New Zealand squads. It shows the hard work been done locally is paying off and shows other referees in the region that there is a pathway within refereeing moving forward. 


Waikato Referees Appointed to Heartland & Mitre10 Cup Semi-final's

UntitledSemi-final weekend is upon us for New Zealand's two premier rugby competitions.

On Saturday 22nd October Michael Winter has been appointed to referee his first Heartland Rugby semi-final. He will officiate the Lochore Cup semi-final between King Country v Poverty Bay down at Taupo's Owen Delany Park. In what will be a re-match of the round 2 fixture when King Country came out on top 30-24 in a tight battle at Owen Delany Park. Michael will be officiating in his 10th First Class appointment. 

Sunday will see Damian Botherway head down to Taranaki to be AR2 for the Taranaki v Tasman Mako's semi-final in New Plymouth. Damian will be involved for the third successive year in the play-offs. He has officiated as an Assistant Referee on 4 occasions throughout the Mitre10 Cup - all of which have been outside of the Waikato. He will be joined in New Plymouth with Angus Mabey from Auckland heading down to be AR1, with Mike Fraser from Wellington as the referee to wrap up the weekends semi-finals.